• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Social Media, Copyright, rights protection

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rainnew

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Regarding: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter
I am confused by all of the literature, waivers, etc. that I have read regarding sharing content to social media platforms. I would like to understand better the copyright protection to my photographs when I post to these sites. Do these platforms have free rights to my work?

I am new to social media and would like to understand what I am relinquishing by sharing my photography (if I decide to join and post).

I understand this is a vast topic, so if it is better to direct me to a link or another resource, I appreciate the direction. Thank You.

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Regarding: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter
I am confused by all of the literature, waivers, etc. that I have read regarding sharing content to social media platforms. I would like to understand better the copyright protection to my photographs when I post to these sites. Do these platforms have free rights to my work?

I am new to social media and would like to understand what I am relinquishing by sharing my photography (if I decide to join and post).

I understand this is a vast topic, so if it is better to direct me to a link or another resource, I appreciate the direction. Thank You.