• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

software rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

SpicyMeatball

What is the name of your state? Ontario, Canada

JUST KIDDING!!! I live in NY, USA.

Anyway,

Here is what I need 'free advice' on. I have been working for a company for about 2 years now developing software for the said company. I think the company is fantastic, and it has helped me pay my bills after college for which I am grateful.

My job is this: The companys president basically comes to me, tells me what he loosely wants done, and I figure out how to do it and then write the software. I am on salary, and have never signed any contracts. I am the only employee who does the software development.

I am planning on relocating to Florida, so pretty soon I will be informing the company of my decision. I am pretty sure I have no rights to the software I wrote, but on the flip side I would be a fool not to look into it. Even if I was entitled to something I probably wouldnt seek it anyway because I am going to need a recommendation, but I do not want to be ignorant of my situation.

Thanks in advance.
Spicy

JETX

Assuming that this 'product' was developed on company paid time, and very likely on company owned equipment, the answer is.... you do not have an ownership claim (assuming that was what you were asking).

H

hexeliebe

JetX is right

I just wanted you to be well aware of another issue in the IT industry these last (tough) years. If you ever took work home, as I and many others do from time to time, make sure you destroy any copies on your home machine.