• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trademark on our game

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jnagle

I am a small developer working on a mobile game for iOS and Android. Having been a game developer for 20 years, I really feel our concept is strong and will do well in the marketplace.

We have chosen a name that is absolutely perfect for this game, it's very simple, and the domain name was available though we paid several thousand dollars for it as a premium name.

During a trademark search, however, we discovered that the trademark for our name was already granted to another company six years ago. Looking on the website for the company, they have a conventional pencil and paper game of the same name, but no electronic version at all. And the concept itself is quite different.

Furthermore although their game can still be bought on Amazon, it looks very much like a dead product... it appears they have not sold any significant numbers in the last six years. The company is actually a mom-and-pop operation running out of their house. On Amazon, it's been on there for six years with no reviews and two copies of the game still in stock. They have one low quality marketing video that was done six years ago also.

So first question: is there a case to be made for brand confusion given that we are both selling a game, even though they're completely different concept and one is conventional versus digital?

Second, is it possible to contest the trademark if the product is no longer being actively promoted, the trademark holder does not own the domain name, etc.?

I appreciate in advance any and all advice, thank you!

-John

adjusterjack