• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

transfer unrecorded copyrights after my death

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TTDeb

What is the name of your state (Idaho)?

I am a needlework designer, and have published and sold many designs being sold through two distributors. The copyrights are not registered the US Copyright office but rather, each design has the copyright information imprinted upon each chart and each image of each design. I have Revocable Trust and Will set up. However, the designs are not yet specifically mentioned in that document.

I would prefer to not go to the great expense of registering each design for copyright. One reason is that I am continually creating and publishing new designs.

Upon my death, I want to gift or transfer the copyrights of each design to a certain person so they can continue to legally sell those designs. Is there a suggestion on an efficient way to do this?

Thank you for any help.

TTDeb

FlyingRon

Upon my death, I want to gift or transfer the copyrights of each design to a certain person so they can continue to legally sell those designs. Is there a suggestion on an efficient way to do this?
You either make a will that indicates where the copyright should go on your death or you transfer them while you are alive to a trust.

TTDeb

: transfer unrecorded copyrights after my death

You either make a will that indicates where the copyright should go on your death or you transfer them while you are alive to a trust.