• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Two U.S. Musical Artists; One Name

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

musicquestion

Hi, I'm a musician in Los Angeles that has been writing and recording music for a debut EP with a new project of mine since October 2013. I currently have a band name that I want to use and have already had a logo created. I recently discovered that this name is already in use by an artist in Alaska. The genres are different; he is a Pop singer/songwriter and my band is Hard Rock/Metal, yet the names are spelled exactly the same. The artist in Alaska has been using the name since 2011 and has already released two albums independently that are available on Amazon, iTunes, and Spotify. In fact, he plans to independently release a Christmas album this year. I have not found any evidence of touring history. The name is not Trademarked.

Question 1: Is it possible for both our bands to "co-exist" in the market?

Question 2: If I were to get the name trademarked would the other artist still be able to cease and desist my name due to the fact that he has been using the name longer?

Question 3: What are the steps that I should take to legally have the right to use this name?

I do not want to give up the name if possible. I also do not want any conflict with the other artist. My future goal is to perform live and release music on a national level with the support of a record label.

Please advise.

quincy