• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unauthorized publication

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

investwriter

What is the name of your state? California
-----------
I have an email newsletter that I've been publishing for several years as a way to promote my investment management practice. It has brought me several clients over the years. I don't charge for it, but I have contact information, a disclaimer and copyright notice. I have also on more than one occassion noted that it can only be redistributed with the contact information and copyright notice included.

I have just learned that a small local newspaper (actually 3 of them) has been republishing my 'investment tips' for maybe as long as 4 years. They include only my name, not the copyright, nor contact information or a byline or anything else. They did this without my knowledge or consent.

What I'm trying to do is figure out how to proceed. Do I start by hitting them over the head with a hammer (i.e. have an attorney contact them) or do I call them and see what they say?

I also don't know if they have a basis on which to weasel on this. Can they claim they didn't know and just blythely walk away?

Would there be any value in registering past newsletters with the copyright office, does that strengthen my case, or is doing it after the fact a waste of time?

If I should talk to an attorney, referrals would be appreciated, I don't know any who know copyright law.

Thanks a bunch for your input.

Donald

HomeGuru

investwriter said:
What is the name of your state? California
-----------