• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Use of Imagery

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EdwardJ912010

[Chicago / Illinois Based] I am looking to create almost like a small museum dedicated to the artwork of video games and where the culture has gone from the early days to modern time. I understand fair use to an extent however i am no lawyer and i wanted to hear what other people would say about this topic if I would be able to legally create a small museum or if I would have to do license every image / logo I use within the museum.

single317dad

What do you plan to display in your museum?

Do you plan to reproduce existing works for display, or purchase items and original artwork?

Do you plan to "rebroadcast" any footage such as cutscenes from games, game playthroughs (such as are easily found on YouTube and the like), interviews, or trailers?

Last edited:

EdwardJ912010

What do you plan to display in your museum?

Do you plan to reproduce existing works for display, or purchase items and original artwork?

Do you plan to "rebroadcast" any footage such as cutscenes from games, game playthroughs (such as are easily found on YouTube and the like), interviews, or trailers?
Ideally I would like to show the actual advertising that the companies have used to market their games (ie posters, manuals, actual cartridges, released concept art, etc.).

I wouldn't want anything really created by me (or anyone i hire) as that does not show the history.