• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Use of Movie/Show Names in a Novel

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EpicSOB

Hello, I am an aspiring scientific fiction author. For a story I am writing I would like to use several unique naming system for the starships of the various factions in my story. The ship names of one particular faction I would like to base on the names of movies and tv shows of the late 1900s up to the present. As an example the central protagonists have a ship that under this naming style would be called the CCS Blackfish because of it resemblance to an killer whale, or a prison translation ship by the name of MTC Shawshank Redemption. But i digress, my question is could i get in trouble for doing this.

FlyingRon

Titles and names are not protected by copyright. The question then turns to one of trademark rights. Frankly, if this use is incidental to the story, I suspect you'll escape any infringement claims. I'd not use SHAWSHANK REDEMTPION in the title of your book lest you raise the ire of Columgia Pictures (or Mr. King and his publishers, the movie title comes from the name of his novella, Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption).

By the way if you've not read the novella, you should, it's perhaps one of the best things I think Steven King has written. It's in a collection called Different Seasons along with three other stories, two of which were made into other movies: Apt Pupil and Stand By Me (the novella title is The Body).

Last edited:

quincy