• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Use of music for portfolio piece

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DrPudding

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

I'm not very familiar with copyright law regarding the use of music. I am an animator interested in creating an animation to a particular piece of music from a video game soundtrack. I have no desire to monetize from it in any way, simply to create a portfolio piece and credit the owners. Given these intentions, is there any leeway in regards to me using it? Any information you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

I'm not very familiar with copyright law regarding the use of music. I am an animator interested in creating an animation to a particular piece of music from a video game soundtrack. I have no desire to monetize from it in any way, simply to create a portfolio piece and credit the owners. Given these intentions, is there any leeway in regards to me using it? Any information you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Contact the makers of the video game for information on obtaining a license to use their property.

quincy

I agree with Zigner that you should contact the holder of the copyrights in the video game soundtrack to inquire about obtaining a license to use the music for your animation.