• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Using South Park Rendition on Book Cover

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

brandon_simpson

I'm an author/publisher in the middle of writing a book about libertarianism in South Park. I want to use a South Park rendition of Ron Paul and Gary Johnson on the cover of my book. These renditions were created by fans, not by the South Park creators or Viacom. If I the owner of these images gave me permission to use them, could Viacom sue me?

I don't see how they could, since they didn't create the images. And, yes, I know that they are "South Park" renditions, but the South Park style has been copied before in parodies.

Could I protect myself by stating this in the book?

quincy

I'm an author/publisher in the middle of writing a book about libertarianism in South Park. I want to use a South Park rendition of Ron Paul and Gary Johnson on the cover of my book. These renditions were created by fans, not by the South Park creators or Viacom. If I the owner of these images gave me permission to use them, could Viacom sue me?

I don't see how they could, since they didn't create the images. And, yes, I know that they are "South Park" renditions, but the South Park style has been copied before in parodies.

It is a legal risk to use South Park creations, regardless of who else copied them. Yes, there is the possibility that you could be sued.

Parodies are difficult to pull off successfully, and disclaimers do not prevent lawsuits (they merely work to mitigate damages in the event of one).

I suggest you create your own cover image (or hire someone to do it) to avoid infringing on the rights of others.