• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Website put up but client failed to pay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jason_b

Hi,

I am a web developer/designer and am the copyright owner of a website.

The website was uploaded to a client's host and the client then changes all login details to prevent my access.

The client has subsequently failed to pay for the work done on the website and refuses to take it down.

The website is hosted in the United States however I am based in the United Kingdom. The client is based in Ireland.

What steps do I need to take to get the site taken down as I am a bit overwhelmed by the relevant law?

Many thanks in advance for any guidance.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
This forum deals with US law only. You need to deal with this in your home country.

quincy

Hi,

I am a web developer/designer and am the copyright owner of a website.

The website was uploaded to a client's host and the client then changes all login details to prevent my access.

The client has subsequently failed to pay for the work done on the website and refuses to take it down.

The website is hosted in the United States however I am based in the United Kingdom. The client is based in Ireland.

What steps do I need to take to get the site taken down as I am a bit overwhelmed by the relevant law?

Many thanks in advance for any guidance.
While Zigner is correct that you will have to handle this from the U.K., even if you are in the U.K. you are able to take advantage of the United State's Digital Millinennium Copyright Act's takedown procedure. The DMCA allows for the removal of infringing material from a U.S.-based location online.