• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What is The Best Path?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rsvale7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Brazil

Hello dear lawyers. I would appreciate if you could help me with a legal question.

I am a musician (guitar player) and I want to do cover music videos for Youtube playing only instruments (without voice).

You know hundreds of artists does cover on youtube on a daily basis. It not means it is legal.

I've researched and I noticed that we need a "synch license" in order to use a music in a video and post it to public.

But in some cases it is not needed (for Parodies and for Fair Use).

Well, even many artists do cover everyday, I like to sleep well knowing that I am breaking no laws or rights.

So, what you think should be the best path for me to go?

1. Do parodies: make an instrumental music and change two words at the end of the song (hardly audible).

2. Teach people how to play that song (more likely to be considered fair use?)

3. Other?

This is very important to me, I would appreciate if you repply.

Thank you very much!

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Brazil

Hello dear lawyers. I would appreciate if you could help me with a legal question.

I am a musician (guitar player) and I want to do cover music videos for Youtube playing only instruments (without voice).

You know hundreds of artists does cover on youtube on a daily basis. It not means it is legal.

I've researched and I noticed that we need a "synch license" in order to use a music in a video and post it to public.

But in some cases it is not needed (for Parodies and for Fair Use).