• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Work done while employed

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

iamintn

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN

If this is in the wrong section, please move it where it's appropriate.

If something is developed, outside of your normal job function and on your own time (mostly), used at work while you work there, do you maintain ownership?

Briefly, I worked as an engineer. I have a computer background as well. While I was employed, I noticed some functions that could be automated and would benefit the entire group, as well as myself a great deal. I developed some software for multiple items that did just that. Most of this was on my own time. Some of the testing, debugging, etc was done at work during the course of the day and deployment.

I no longer work at this company (recently left). Do I own this work? I would like to have the original code (I stupidly put this on the company's server for back-up purposes) returned to me. Am I within my rights to make this request?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

JETX

I no longer work at this company (recently left). Do I own this work?
Most employers for 'creative positions', such as engineers, software developers, etc. include a 'we own product' clause in their employment agreement.

I would like to have the original code (I stupidly put this on the company's server for back-up purposes) returned to me. Am I within my rights to make this request?
Absolutely. You can request almost anything. Whether they have to honor your request is the question.
Go ahead and ask. The worse they can say is no.

iamintn

Thanks for the response!