• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can dogs be held until owner pays?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ogrrr

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CALIFORNIA

I am a dog trainer. The clients leave their dogs with me for a 2 week training period. At the end of the 2 week program, the client comes and does a check out program with me. This is where I teach them how to properly continue training and give advice for typical issues.

At the end of the check out lesson they are expected to pay their remaining balance and at this point I hand over the client's dog.

There have been times when the client hasn't had their money ready (for whatever reasons). I usually just give the dog to the client and tell them to pay me as soon as they get home. The problem is there have been a handful of times where the client wants to disappear on me. I've even had one move out of the state! Suffice it to say, tracking down what I'm owed is extremely stressful.

So my question is: "Can I legally keep the dog and charge kenneling fees until the client pays the remaining balance?"

Just Blue

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CALIFORNIA

I am a dog trainer. The clients leave their dogs with me for a 2 week training period. At the end of the 2 week program, the client comes and does a check out program with me. This is where I teach them how to properly continue training and give advice for typical issues.

At the end of the check out lesson they are expected to pay their remaining balance and at this point I hand over the client's dog.