• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Debt Collection on Credit Card Please Advise!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

msOG607

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New York

I am a 21 year old college student. I have had this credit card since high school. I am currently over my limit, the total owed being $886. I work part time as a server, and this past semester I have had to give up many shifts to keep up with my classes and internship. I tried to keep up with it, but after 2 weeks off to transfer home, and the holidays, I have not worked in a while. I begin working this week, but I received a call from a debt collector this morning. This is the first time I've experienced it, and I'm honestly scared. I can pay down the card in a month's time or so, but I am unsure how to proceed from here.

OHRoadwarrior

Start making payments. It appears you have had higher priorities than your bill. Get another job, fast food restaurants are hiring.

CSO286

I am a 21 year old college student. I have had this credit card since high school. I am currently over my limit, the total owed being $886. I work part time as a server, and this past semester I have had to give up many shifts to keep up with my classes and internship. I tried to keep up with it, but after 2 weeks off to transfer home, and the holidays, I have not worked in a while. I begin working this week, but I received a call from a debt collector this morning. This is the first time I've experienced it, and I'm honestly scared. I can pay down the card in a month's time or so, but I am unsure how to proceed from here.
A. Cut up card.
B. Call debt collector.