• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Held Transcripts

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mandi6278

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Virginia, college is in GA

I graduated from college in 2000. In order to do that, my account had to be fully paid and settled with the college (it was). Since graduating, I hadn't been able to meet my loan obligations (heavy debt, useless degree, etc...), got depressed, let everything default, declared Chapter 13 (now done). Since student loans couldn't be included in that settlement, I've been picking up their payments and getting current. I've rebuilt my credit and things are going fine. Until now- my college won't release my transcript because one of my loans still shows as being in default because I'm paying it through a collection agency as there was no rehabilitation option available. I can provide documentation that this payment plan is in good standing, however the nature of the collection action is that they collect the full sum due over time (I don't have or have any way to get the full sum amount) and then send the lump sum to the loan agency.

If the debt in question is being settled, and I can provide proof that it is, should my college still hold my transcript? Can they legally hold it anyway since I do not owe them a dime directly? My ability to pay my debts satisfactorily rests upon my ability to get one lousy transcript and get a degree I can actually use.

Chien

Can they legally hold it anyway since I do not owe them a dime directly?