• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HELP - Redeemed car repossession

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dlbennett620

I live in New York. In May, 1999 my car was repossessed (I was a college student and I fell behind). I redeemed the repossession immediately (within a week) and have since paid the car off. The financing company (GMAC) has consistently (since May, 1999) listed my car as a repossession - never indicating that the car was redeemed. I have written to them. I received one letter back from GMAC indicating they made a mistake and have forwarded the correct information to all credit bureaus (this letter is dated back to 2003). Every year my credit report lists the repossession as active and never mention that it was redeemed. The repossession is currently listed as being taken by GMAC in July, 2003 (which it was not). I had the title to the car and have since given the car away (it was the worst car I've ever had - don't buy a Chevy). I gave the car to a family friend, so I can get a copy of the title.

As I am trying to purchase a house, this continued listing of a "repossession" is killing my credit. GMAC has never rectified the situation. I filed a complaint with the FTC in 2004, but I have heard nothing back. I have also filed a dispute with the credit bureaus. Nothing seems to have worked.

Does anyone have any ideas or advice that may help me remove this very damaging information from my credit report? I truly could use some help. I'm a single mom who would like to buy a house for my daughter to grow up in. Please help. Thank you for your time.

Diane

ablessin