• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How do I appeal a judgement?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ajm7

What is the name of your state? New York.

I live in New York state. I would immensely appreciate any help/advice as I have no legal knowledge.

I had a legal Judgement filed against me about 7-8 years ago (the initial amount was $4000+). I received a letter when the Judgment was filed with request to appear in court. . As I did not go to court, money was taken out of my checking account at that time, but only the balance of my account $700+.

Just yesterday, the same creditor has initiated a debit in the amount of $26,000 in another checking account. I had only about $25 in it, so my account is presently about -$25,975.

In between 7-8 years ago and now, I received numerous letters from the creditor with the debt increasing by hundreds of dollars each month. I did nothing to respond to this letters except contacted creditor by phone which got me nowhere.

My questions are:
1) How do I appeal this judgement? I did not take it seriously at first
2) What happens to the debit? Does it stay on my account and I now owe the bank, or will the bank treat it as a case of insufficient fees and cancel the transaction?

The so-called debt is to a university that claims I signed up for some courses. It's a paralyzing situation for me because I can't quite prove my case and I really haven't tried to beyond sending letters to the school administration and deans with no response.