• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

International debt collection in the state of Pennsylvania

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BertUS

Pennsylvania

New member here - hoping I'm sticking to the rules. Question is regarding international debt collection in the state of Pennsylvania and the USA in general.

I have been a legal permanent resident (green card holder) of the United States since June 2015.
The South African Revenue Services (equivalent to the IRS) retrieved moneys from my South African Bank Account because they believed said moneys were owed as income tax in June 2016. After a tedious battle with said revenue service they paid back a substantial amount but was adamant that I owe ±$20,000.00. There were insufficient funds in this South African account and it forced the bank to put it on overdraft (unsecured) when they first withdrew money. I never approved this amount to be placed on overdraft but the revenue service took it regardless. As far as the revenue service is concerned the tax is settled. The bank however is now harassing family members in South Africa for my contact details and called me at my place of employment here in the US demanding payment. I did not at any point admit that any moneys are owed to said bank. This is a local South African bank with no international ties or offices (that I know of) in the United States. When I financially emigrated from South Africa I left no financial assets behind except about ±$2,000.00 which the South African Revenue Services took from my account and I now count as lost. I do not have the money to pay this overdraft and do not believe that it should ever have been paid out by the bank in question.