• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Lein on house

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Laceydos621

Question for a friend of mine that is going through this right now and not tech savvy. I have never used a site like this before but here is the situation. Hoping someone can guide us in the right direction.
Husband and wife married almost 40 years. About 10 years ago the husbands son was arrested and had to post a $500,000 bond. It should be noted this is not a mutual child; only the husbands son.
In order to make bail for his son the husband, along with his ex wife and ex father in law all put their houses up to the government; knowing that if he skipped bail there would be a lien placed on their homes.
Sure enough, the son skipped bail. He was eventually arrested and served time but the lien went on each of their houses. The wife refused to sign paperwork to put their house up for his bail. Therefore there is only a lien on half the house. For years it has been on the husbands half only. The government seized property from the ex wife and ex father in law but there is still outstanding debt owed to the government. the property was only seized when they attempted to sell these homes.
It should also be noted the husband was retired and receiving a pension from the city and social security both of which I guess the government could not garnish any money from. So the husband and wife never made any payments. The mortgage on this house is paid off. Again to reiterate the wife never signed any paperwork e ear for her half of the house.
The husband recently passed away. The house was left in the wife's name only making her the only owner.