• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I sign settlement stip?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nomorecringing

What is the name of your state? New York

Hi all. Just for background, I'm not interested in playing armchair lawyer with the one collection agency I am dealing with. I acknowledge the debt, no prob, it's mine. And I have been making monthly payments for 4 months now.

What is bothering me is the wording of the settlement stip they are strong-arming me to sign. They are asking me to waive "any and all offsets, defenses and/or counterclaims."

If I sign the settlement (which is otherwise non-objectionable), what is to prevent them going ahead and getting a judgment even though I am paying them on time? And further, is there anything that would prevent them executing on that judgment even though I am paying on time?

I really need the payment plan so I would like to be cooperative. I am just worried that if I sign away all my legal rights there will be no stopping whatever they want to do -- unless the court is vigilant in such matters. I intend to call the court before signing this as they have been very helpful in the past.

Advice please! TYVM

Chien

I intend to call the court before signing this as they have been very helpful in the past.
While helpful, the Court is precluded from giving you legal advice.