• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

State Student Loan SOL??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wpagurl

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Newbie here hoping that someone can offer some sound advice. I'll try to keep this brief.

I went to college in PA in the early 1980's and partially financed my education with 4 loans from a small local bank. The promissory notes for the loans were under the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency's (PHEAA) Guaranteed Student Loan Program (GSLP). Sometime in the late 1980's, the bank in question folded and the promissory notes were apparently acquired by a consolidated bank in Texas.

I eventually married and moved to Maryland. My husband, with my approval, handled all the budgeting and bill paying for our household.

We subsequently divorced and I moved back to PA in 2003. In April of 2004, I received a letter from Great Plains Capital Corp. At some point the notes for my loan had been assigned to Great Plains Capital Corp (GPCC) by Consolidated Loan Service and somehow ended up in both my husband's and my names. My husband had not only stopped paying on the loan but had also diverted all the correspondence from GPCC so that I wasn't aware what was going on. Until the April 2004 correspondence.

The collector told me that spouse had not followed up on discussions and correspondence they'd had back in 1996 (again, I had no knowledge of this) wherein my spouse had agreed to specific payment terms. The collector indicated that I needed to respond within 30 days or else he would pursue legal means to collect the debt, etc.