• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Stipulation of Discontinuance???

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nystudent7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

ok, I found out I was being sued in 2008, the debt collect basically did "sewer service" and did not serve me, but rather told the court they had and THEN mailed me a copy of the complaint AFTER the 21 day time to respond had lapsed. They claimed they had served me at my place of last residence which I hadn't live at in over ten years. I filed an Answer challenging the suit on the SOL, and insufficient service. The collector got scared and ran off, frankly I have no legal experience so I thought the court would proceed on it. It hasn't there has been NO action on the case since I filed my answer in 2008.

A few days ago I received a letter from the collector for a stipulation of discontinuance, I am guessing it's with prejudice. My questions are: what should I do? Should I accept the stipulation? I will be doing all the paperwork myself so any pointers would be great!!

You Are Guilty

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY