• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Stop payment on check payment for poor business practices + collections repercussions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

help2345

What is the name of your state? TX

I'm a student and I recently went to an exam review company for a university course final exam. The owner told me he had the exact final exam. When i went however he told me that it was comprehensive and all the exams (1 to 3) were what was on the final. According to the business policy I had to pay $60 before i was even able to look at them.
After i made out a check for that amount, he gave me a folder of random exams which when i looked through, I saw they weren't for my professors final exam. When i told him the exams weren't for my class, he gave me an exam that said "final exam" on it that had similar format to my professor's except this exam only had 25 questions when i know the in-class final has 40 questions. When i looked through i noticed that the exam questions were from the first exam. A while later a girl from my class comes in, and after speaking with the owner, approaches me and asks to look at the exams. We realize that the material on our final is not comprehensive as he had said. He also had numerous exams that looked like personal documents and were typed in regular MS Word. We both thought these looked fake. I went over to him and told him that the girl that i spoke with just told me the final wasn't comprehensive and that the material would not be in the final. Immediately he told me to step outside.