• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Stranger in a free land

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Praxised

What is the name of your state? CA

I am a Canadian documented alien resident in CA. Years ago I had student loans with the Canadian gov, paid 70000 dollars on 28000 principle until I retired and emmigrated to USA. 12000 still owing. Now they (through a Canadian Collections company) are after me for the balance.

Question: can Canadian gov persue this in California court? Does California SOL apply?
If so, does the federal SOL exemption for student loans apply? In Canada the fed SOL is six years.Just wondering....

Shay-Pari'e

CA Sol does not apply. You need to look up your Canadian laws regarding your loan.

Nothing like getting a free ride at the tax payers expense.:rolleyes:

Praxised

Thank you for the reply. I susect that 11% interest over a decade is hardly a free ride and in fact was profitable for the gov. but that is the way the rules are in Canada. I see the US student loan rate has been halved- another free ride, or responsible response to student access to higher learning? A moral issue I dont wish to persue at this time in this forum.

Maine-iac

CA Sol does not apply. You need to look up your Canadian laws regarding your loan.

Nothing like getting a free ride at the tax payers expense.:rolleyes:
After reading just a couple of your posts it isn't difficult to discern that you're the most obnoxious and pestiferous person on this forum. It is obvious that there is something seriously lacking in your life for you to be taking joy in insulting people when they're having some type of misfortune and looking for some advice.