• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

The Student Loan Debate - They wont take my money

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ShawnaS

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

I graduated with my degree, and debt, when I was 19. Had it all together for about 5 years or so. I got married really young, and then divorced, at that time I also got laid off, was sleeping on the floor of my sisters studio apartment and resulted in defaulting on my loans. Everything fell apart.

I failed to begin to repay my loans because Sallie Mae would not work with me when I contacted them. They wanted a very large amount of money up front (what I was behind - 2+ years worth of payments) to start repayment of my Private, Career Training loan (not federal college - I paid that off), which I could not do. A few years went by, I decided to try repayment again, my lawyer contacted Sallie Mae, they sent me a letter back stating that they "No longer own this loan, contact the collections agency that does'" - great - But Who is it?? I have not been contacted in any way, by anyone, at all in 5 years for this debt.

My lawyer also requested "proof of debt" from them, with no reply at all.

The debt, that has doubled now, still shows on my credit report as Sallie Mae (Navient) but they wont take my money! Ive tried to send them payments, they just return it to me. Its the only negative mark on my credit. What do I do to get this resolved? My lawyers response was "just wait and see what happens" but thats not fixing the issue.

It has now been 7 years since my last accepted payment to Sallie Mae.

Thank you

Last edited:

justalayman