• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Suing to Change Info on Credit Report

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tj1320

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Mexico

I am a new attorney in NM and I apologize in advance for not having a clue as to how to solve my problem. Hopefully you guys can at least get me started.

I am having an issue with a previous landlord and their collection agency. After I moved out of my apartment, I received an invoice a couple months later for damages and fees and so on and so forth for about $1,500. This was absurd for many reasons which are too numerous to list here, so I weighed my options legally and opted to send them a check for $340.50 (the amount I believe I owe) per the NM statute governing accord and satisfaction. 90 days passed and the collection agency retained the payment without cashing it, thus creating an accord and satisfaction. After the 90 days, I sent a demand letter to the landlord explaining this and giving them 60 days to alter or otherwise correct my credit report to show that the debt was satisfied. Naturally, they ignored this and the 60 days have passed. I'm not looking for a lot here, just injunctive relief to compel them to show that this debt is satisfied, the account is closed, or whatever needs to be done to prevent this debt from negatively affecting my credit score. I have looked through a lot of forms on my legal research software, but I am unsure how to draft my complaint. Please advise. Thanks.

justalayman