• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions about STD/possible permanent disability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

perleblack

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio

I have a few questions that no one will adequately answer for me. I have been on STD since end of August '09 due to complications from childbirth. I recently had surgery and now my surgeon's office assistant has told Met Life (who supplies my STD) that I will be ready for work 2 weeks post-op, without having completed my post-op wound check (which is not for another week past that date). I know that I will not be physically able to do the job I am supposed to go back to. I am a restaurant manager, and standing for the majority of each 10 hour day is something that I cannot do in my current condition. My surgeon hedged around the possibility of being able to repair my area of pain, not giving me a direct answer as to whether I will ever be able to be free of the pain. Met Life inquired as to whether I would be leading into a LTD claim, but the office assistant insured them I would be good to go in 2 weeks. I need advice as to how to proceed. I do not want to tell my employer I am able to return to work without first being seen for my post-op appointment. However, since I do not believe I will be able to return to work regardless, how do I address my doctor to insure she put in writing that I am unable to do my job? My employer does not offer positions that do not require standing for long hours, so there are no other options within the company. If I simply do not return, they will hold me responsible for the medical insurance premiums they have paid over the last 6 months. I do not belie