• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

short term - how avg. weekly wage is calculated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lexicon18

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

I have been on STD since 2/19/13. I am pregnant and herniated 2 discs in my lower back. I work as a bank teller so the on my feet all the time was impossible and dr. took me out until after I deliver. Disability will only approve my disability for a month at a time so the dates are not lining up with my payroll. My last two checks have been roughly 25% of my pre-disability pay. I called to inquire as to what was going on because I thought it was just a date issue and to ask if an adjustment would be made. I was told that because disability pays 50% of my last 8 weeks, my checks went down because those 8 weeks now include all the weeks I have been on disability and receiving 50% of my pay, so now I am down to roughly 25% of my pre-disability paycheck. Is this right? I thought the average was based on the 8 weeks prior to my disability not including it...I will be on disability through September so it will keep going down and down if the way they are calculating it is correct.

swalsh411

Contact your HR department. Somebody doesn't know what they are doing. Nothing that happened after the effective date of your claim should count.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
And the correct answer is: