• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

alimony

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gettindivorced

What is the name of your state? New Jersey

my wife and i have been together seven years. we put each other through school. for a few years she was the primary earner and i got a degree in computer science. now i am the primary earner and she has 3 classes left for a degree in fine art. she has left me for another man. so now she will have a worthless degree (i mean what can you do with an art degree, not much) so she will most likely be working a job that pays $10 an hour. i make double what she makes. my question is will i have to pay alimony? its not my fault she chose a worthless degree.

thanks

Litigation!

gettindivorced said:
What is the name of your state? New Jersey

my wife and i have been together seven years. we put each other through school. for a few years she was the primary earner and i got a degree in computer science. now i am the primary earner and she has 3 classes left for a degree in fine art. she has left me for another man. so now she will have a worthless degree (i mean what can you do with an art degree, not much) so she will most likely be working a job that pays $10 an hour. i make double what she makes. my question is will i have to pay alimony? its not my fault she chose a worthless degree.

thanks

My response:

It's also her fault for having chosen a worthless human being like you! Perhaps the "other man" is better. Hopefully.

But, she won't get alimony (spousal support) either. Your marriage was too short.

IAAL

gettindivorced