• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

CA Annulment--Proof?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

averygrace

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I have a hearing coming up for an annulment case. Unfortunately, I can not afford legal advice. So any kind of advice would be greatly appreciated! I was married to an Alaskan resident in March. (I am a CA resident, if this is an important detail.) From March until I left Alaska in July I was unable to consumate the marriage. We both agree on the grounds of nullity and there are no children or properties involved. My question is, do I need to bring some sort of proof to the hearing? And if so, what exactly would constitute as proof? Thank you so much for any input you can give!

mistoffolees

It doesn't look as though you meet the requirements for an annulment. Failure to consummate isn't one of them (INABILITY to consummate is, though).

You need to be in CA for 6 months to file for a divorce. If you're both in agreement and there are no children or assets to speak of, you may be eligible for summary dissolution once you meet the 6 month requirement. That would probably be your least expensive way to go:

Divorce/Legal Separation/Annulment

LdiJ

It doesn't look as though you meet the requirements for an annulment. Failure to consummate isn't one of them (INABILITY to consummate is, though).

You need to be in CA for 6 months to file for a divorce. If you're both in agreement and there are no children or assets to speak of, you may be eligible for summary dissolution once you meet the 6 month requirement. That would probably be your least expensive way to go:

Divorce/Legal Separation/Annulment