• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can he do that!!!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Genn0620

What is the name of your state? NC
My husband left me and my 4 children 3 weeks ago. One of these children are his. He took all of my child support from my ex-husband and my VA education money to pay the bills with, and he took his pay check out of the bank so I would have no money. I am a full time student, so that is the only money I have. Now, he is talking about taking half of the furniture that my ex-husband gave me in our divorce. It was mine before we got married. Also, he bought me a piano for my birthday. Can he make me sell it? Please help! I'm desperate!!!! :eek:

rmet4nzkx

You need to get an attorney ASAP. Do you have a separate account? Filed for divorce? Reported the theft of the money? He is not entitled to your belongings you brought with you to the marriage or to your separate property and or gifts.

State Divorce Laws: North Carolina

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS AND WHERE TO FILE: Either spouse must have been a resident of North Carolina for at least 6 months prior to filing for divorce. Divorce may be filed for in the county of residence of either spouse. [General Statutes of North Carolina; Chapter 50, Section 50-8].

LEGAL GROUNDS FOR DIVORCE: No-Fault: Living separate and apart without cohabitation for 1 year. [General Statutes of North Carolina; Chapter 50, Section 50-6]

General: (1) Confinement for incurable insanity for 3 years or (2) incurable mental illness based on examinations for 3 years. [General Statutes of North Carolina; Chapter 50, Sections 50-5.1].