• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I get gov assistance if I am legally separated?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ohara82

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kentucky

I have two children and I am a full time student. My husband has a great career,it allowed me to be a stay at home mother and to pursue my degree. He makes to much money for us to get any assistance but now he wants a separation. The problem is that I can't provide alone. I can get a job, but I also really need to finish school so I can provide my children with a quality life. I don't know if I would be able to get the free child care the state provides low income if I am just seperated. I would also be interested in getting help with my school and prehaps food stamps. I just can't believe this is happening to me. I know that it sounds like I'm asking if the government will support me, but I don't want my children to have to go without until I finish my degree. I know I can get child support, but with my lack of skills I will not be able to cover daycare on what I would be able to make. Would it be better to just get a divorce?

Isis1