• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child tax credit return

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

laurmouse

What is the name of your state? Wisconsin
I was granted a divorce in 5/03. We filed jointly for 2002. Am I entitled to any portion of the new child tax refund? How do I know if a refund was issued? What should I do if he signed my name and took the money?Thank you in advance for your reply.

Janet7

I am not a lawyer but it seems there is something rotten here. How about an answer from one of our esteemed attorneys?

Forgery is a crime is it not?

C

CalieBayGirl

This is not a usual thing with regards to a divorce. The IRS doesn't do this all the time, so I'm sure there are many people in your situation this year. You need to file a motion regarding the subjuct , with the court who handled this. I'm confident the judge will see it as a "un forseen matter" and will entertain your motion.

L

laurmouse