• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Divorce, abusive husband, teaching, cell phone issues

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ccole

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Mississippi

Alright, so my husband is an abusive ******* and I intend to divorce him as soon as I can. We have been separated for over two months. I used to be a teacher, but I broke my teacher ethics code(mistake on my part) and they were going to launch a "full investigation" against me, so I resigned (on good terms) with the county I work with to avoid all of that trouble.

Anyways, I am really close to a now formal student of mine. We have had no physical contact beyond a hug while I was a teacher. A week after I was officially resigned, I did kiss him(a very small peck on the lips). He is eighteen years old, and has been since October.

Recently, there was a big fiasco involving the police being called on my dad and husband for domestic violence, but it ended up with me having to leave the house. My husband had my phone, and took it to the school. Apparently, the school is in possession of my phone, and may be searching through it to find something to get me for Abuse of Power: statutory rape. There is nothing on there they could get me for. They do not have a warrant. The phone is in my mother's name, and my mother is willing go to retrieve it. When I asked an officer today about my phone, he said that my husband having it is a civil matter and must be dealt with a judge.