• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Divorce advice please

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

timtim scott

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? mn

my wife and I have been married for 3 1/2 years and i have recently asked her for a divorce. she moved into my house, but have been making all of the payments. Both of us are struggling to get by, are in our mid-forties, and we both are leaving the relationship with about the same as we entered into it with. There are no children involved, and there is no equity in my home.
I have some hunting property that I owned prior to our marriage, and a 401K plan that I have been contributing to for 15 years. Can my wife expect some type of monetary compensation in this situation?
would it be in my best interest to be the one to file divorce papers, or should i wait things out. She has moved out and has purchased a home on her own.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

mistoffolees

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? mn

my wife and I have been married for 3 1/2 years and i have recently asked her for a divorce. she moved into my house, but have been making all of the payments. Both of us are struggling to get by, are in our mid-forties, and we both are leaving the relationship with about the same as we entered into it with. There are no children involved, and there is no equity in my home.
I have some hunting property that I owned prior to our marriage, and a 401K plan that I have been contributing to for 15 years. Can my wife expect some type of monetary compensation in this situation?