• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

divorce-down payment gift

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

he left me

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Massachusetts I'm new to the "forum arena" so please bear with me. When we purchased our home, my mother(who lives with us and is legally blind) gave us the down payment on the house and we took out a mortgage for the rest. She does not appear on the mortgage nor the title. My question is... What legal document do I need from her to protect the "gift" from not becoming part of the 1/2 & 1/2 split in the divorce? In other words my husband should only be entitled to 1/4 of the house. Am I wrong?

Last edited:

JETX

My question is... What legal document do I need from her to protect the "gift" from not becoming part of the 1/2 & 1/2 split in the divorce? In other words my husband should only be entitled to 1/4 of the house. Am I wrong?
You're wrong. At the time of the gift, it was (presumably) given EQUALLY to both of you. The fact that you are now separating does NOT alter that fact.

he left me

Even though my Mom will still live with me after the divorce, why would he still be entitled to the gift? We need that portion to stay in the house. My 2 daughters still live with me also.

JETX

Even though my Mom will still live with me after the divorce, why would he still be entitled to the gift? We need that portion to stay in the house. My 2 daughters still live with me also.
Okay, lets try this again....
At a certain point in time, a gift was made to BOTH of you (as a couple). No one can then later CHANGE the 'terms' of the gift, at least without a court order.