• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DIVORCE help for common law marriage

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Commonlymarried

I live in Texas and I entered a common law marriage in 2007. We filed taxes among other legal documents as married and presented ourselves as husband and wife. We had insurances togther and leases. My husband abandoned me and his child, which we have together. He stopped paying the utilities and the rent and we were evicted. I moved in with my family and he moves in with his fiance. He is now married to this other woman. I am unemployed because I am a full-time student. Now I am swimming in debt and two evictions. I want a divorce, because I want to clear myself from him. I know he has committed fraud on other things and I'm afraid it will come back on me. Now he is claiming we don't need a divorce because the marriage never existed. It is possible he will get away with this? I know I will have to prove the marriage existed, but I feel extremely frustrated because he is fighting me on this.

OHRoadwarrior

You must file for divorce, presenting proof these 3 elements have been met to the court,

(1) agree to be married

(2) After the agreement live together, in Texas, as wife and husband AND

(3) "Hold Out" or tell others that they are married.

justalayman

And since you appear to be married, his new marriage would be void as well as bigamous.

Basically you need to file for divorce.

Commonlymarried