• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

divorce law in Illinois

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

curiousd

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois
i would like to divorce my husband of 20yrs. He owns his own buisness which is continually in debt and is also incurring credit card debt..he makes about $2000 a year!(he wasn't always this way, just in the last 10yrs or so). He refuses to pay any expense that we may have as a family ie, mortgage, utility bills, insurance, basic living expenses etc... I am a nurse and will retire in a few years and I don't want to give him half of my pension, and since I'm the only one who has paid for my house I don't see why he should get half of it. He outright refuses to pay for anything and tells me 'f*** you " when I ask for it. Hasn't contributed at all to our only childs college tuition and also thinks he is entitled to half of the inheritance my parents left me.
Is there anything that I can do to make sure that he doesn't get all of the things that i have worked for all of my life?
Thanks for any help....What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

mistoffolees