• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

divorce and personal injury settlement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jackiehall

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois
ok..so I went to an attorney..he seemed to think that I need to give him $2500 first!!
The personal injury i recieved happened to me when i was the ages 12 til i was 17.My body was exposed to chromium six.Does that make my personal injury settlement seperate property because i was obviously not married when i was exposed?I have paid off "OUR" debts already and I put $5000 down on a new jeep for him.The debts equaled $23,000.00He is a journey man carpenter making $30 an hour and I am a student on trade act benefits.I do not have insurance and there is no guarentee I will not get sick in the future again.Hasn't he recieved enough of my settlement or will the judge grant him more?Before the settlement i have bank statements showing $110 in savings and $600 in checking. Help please!!!

Perky

You really need to keep all your posts on the same topic in the same thread. Starting three threads on the same topic is very annoying!! :mad:

In any event, I found some opinions on the subject. There are differences of opinion. You will likely need an attorney for your divorce, so that's who you should be questioning.

http://www.dcba.org/brief/junissue/1997/art70697.htm
http://family-law.lawyers.com/divorce/Personal-Injury-Awards-in-Divorce.html
http://www.lasorsalaw.com/lawyer-attorney-1093073.html
http://www.state.il.us/court/opinions/supremecourt/1996/september/opinions/html/80168.txt
http://www.divorce-lawyers-chicago.com/marital_properity.php

LdiJ