• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Divorcing Wife who lives overseas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

thejuggler1@mac

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Tennessee

I am currently pursuing an uncontested amicable divorce from my wife who currently lives in Israel. We separated over 18 months ago and she moved back home to Israel where she is very happy. We have committed to getting a divorce but I have no idea how to do this. I am a graduate student (very poor) and I cannot afford an attorney. She will never be returning to the US. I do not know what to do here. Nobody has given me any useful advice other than "File for divorce." Okay, how? How can I do it myself or for free? Where are the resources? Anything. I need help here.

I am currently pursuing an uncontested amicable divorce from my wife who currently lives in Israel. We separated over 18 months ago and she moved back home to Israel where she is very happy. We have committed to getting a divorce but I have no idea how to do this. I am a graduate student (very poor) and I cannot afford an attorney. She will never be returning to the US. I do not know what to do here. Nobody has given me any useful advice other than "File for divorce." Okay, how? How can I do it myself or for free? Where are the resources? Anything. I need help here.
Most graduate students I know(poor or not) have heard of Google! Any number of searches will come up with thousands of articles and web sites. You need to start doing a little more research and narrow down your questions here. We'd all be glad to help...but come on...your a graduate student...and you should know what doing research is all about.

HomeGuru