• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I have to be separated for a year before I get a divorce?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

briperez3009

Me and my husband live in North Carolina but I am a resident of Texas and he is a resident of South Carolina. Apparently in the state of North Carolina you have to be separated for a year, is there any way around that stipulation?

Last edited:

FlyingRon

The PREVIEW button doesn't work for some people (it erases what you have typed already).

You need to post the question again with the name of your state. Some states require separation before divorce, other's do not.

Proserpina

Me and my husband live in North Carolina but I am a resident of Texas and he is a resident of South Carolina. Apparently in the state of North Carolina you have to be separated for a year, is there any way around that stipulation?

Can you clarify a little on how you both live in NC but have retained residency in Texas and SC?

LdiJ

Yes, you file for divorce in TX, instead of him filing for divorce in NC.

I'mTheFather

Re-read...she is a resident of TX.
Yeah, I read it already.

Don't you wonder how it is that she's living in NC, but is still considered a resident of Texas for purposes of divorce?

Maybe she's in the military, but she didn't mention it, so....

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
Re-read...she is a resident of TX.
How? Because she might not be able to file in Texas. Maybe what she means by resident is that SHE didn't change her driver's license or voter's registration. That doesn't mean she is legally a Texas resident so unless we find out HOW/WHY she remains a Texas resident, you can't state that she can file in Texas.

LdiJ