• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Emancipation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Steven the Sain

Hi, My name is Steven of Mississippi. I am 18 and by my mothers, and the courts, I am legally emancipated. I'm a Hydraulic mechanic. I well exceed what is needed to meet my financial needs. I currently live in a home with my mother (3 bed, 2 bath). The house will be payed off in 3 months at which point my mother is relocating further south. My girlfriend is currently 16. We have her parents consent to date, but they are verbally abusive to her, may I add she is adopted, she wishes to seek legal emancipation.She also seeks emancipation due to different religious values. We have considered marriage, but we do not believe her parents will agree. Is there a way to obtain marriage without their consent? If not, can we use my financial status (along with her working for minimum wage) to obtain the judges decision in our favor? Thank you.

Silverplum