• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Evidences at bifurcated trial can be used in final trial?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Harry Yoshida

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am going thru divorce proceeding. I am a pro per, and my wife has an attorney.

During a bifurcated trial for the issue of date of separation, a lot of evidences were presented including testimonies. Can these evidences at the bifurcated trial used as evidences in the final trial in the same court? Are those conisdered as hearsay? Can opposing attorney or the judge can object to it? If so, is there way I can overcome the objection?

Thank you in advance for your answer.

mistoffolees

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am going thru divorce proceeding. I am a pro per, and my wife has an attorney.

During a bifurcated trial for the issue of date of separation, a lot of evidences were presented including testimonies. Can these evidences at the bifurcated trial used as evidences in the final trial in the same court? Are those conisdered as hearsay? Can opposing attorney or the judge can object to it? If so, is there way I can overcome the objection?

Thank you in advance for your answer.
You're going to have to be more specific, but, in general, any evidence presented at the first trial can be presented at the second one. If there was a witness at the first trial, they might have to come back for the 2nd, but the evidence isn't going to disappear.

Harry Yoshida

To : mistofolees