• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Financial debacle

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

needoutnow

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? OHIO
I need feedback please. I am married to a verbally and financially abusive husband. We have two children, 15 & 2.5. He works full time in a labor position and averages $45,000/yr. Sometimes less in recent years, but last year was $45; one year it was $70k, but that was quite a while back. I am a self-employed stay at home mom. I have a college degree; he does not. After all the deductions I'm allowed to take, I only claim about $9-$14k in annual income. Our oldest child is in a private school that charges about $12k, but we receive some offset/grant and we pay about $6200 over 9-10 months.
Husband filed bankruptcy about five years ago. I did not. In fact, I paid off the one thing in both our names to preclude myself from filing. Without extensive detail, my spouse nickels and dimes us to broke. WE were separated seven years ago and he signed (forged) my name on loan documents - which is the loan I paid off ($7k). The bankruptcy court came back a year after BK was final and demanded that I pay back almost $11k in tax return money (two years worth), even though I did not file BK, b/c I was married to him. I had our accountant verify and submit that about $9500 of the refund was a result of my home based biz deductions. To no avail, I had to pay the tax return amount to the BK court anyhow.