• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

health insurance after divorce

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

melinda510

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

My husband and I are planning on filing for divorce soon and I'll be meeting with an attorney in the next couple of weeks, but I had a question I wanted to get some feedback on before I meet with them. Can a divorced spouse be covered on medical insurance with a court order? I'm an independent contractor so I don't have medical insurance available to me through employment. My insurance is through my husband's employer. He doesn't mind keeping me on the policy if legally allowed, so I was just curious whether or not the judge can order that I remain on the policy for a period of time after the divorce is final.

Thanks

mistoffolees

Very few insurance policies would allow this. Group plans allow the member and family members, but rarely (IF EVER) other adults who are not family members.

If no insurance is available where you work (and assuming you don't want to get a different job), then you'll need a private policy. You could then ask for your stbx to pay for the private policy - or pay you enough money so that you can pay for your policy. Depending on your health, this may not be terribly expensive. However, it's unreasonable to expect him to pay for your insurance forever. If you were talking about a few years before Medicare kicks in, that would be one thing. But just expecting permanent coverage is a problem.

melinda510