• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How to handle husband demanding to see child when separated?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cgm

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I left the family home just a few days ago due to legal urging and moved my child and myself to my family in a nearby city. My husband is now sending me messages stating he wants to see our child and it will be today, no discussion, no arrangements. I do not want to sever the relationship between father and child, but my husband is very unpredictable and enjoys thwarting rules whenever possible. Due to that I have fear of him attempting to take the child, though I have no grounds, just knowledge of him as a person. Am I able to refuse the visit or insist on a date/time? Does the visit have to be unsupervised? And if he just shows up, what is my recourse? Very nervous.

TinkerBelleLuvr

I left the family home just a few days ago due to legal urging and moved my child and myself to my family in a nearby city. My husband is now sending me messages stating he wants to see our child and it will be today, no discussion, no arrangements. I do not want to sever the relationship between father and child, but my husband is very unpredictable and enjoys thwarting rules whenever possible. Due to that I have fear of him attempting to take the child, though I have no grounds, just knowledge of him as a person. Am I able to refuse the visit or insist on a date/time? Does the visit have to be unsupervised? And if he just shows up, what is my recourse? Very nervous.