• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this a lost cause?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

justamom24

Wisconsin

I was married for 20 yrs to a man who was basically not involved in the raising or our 3 children other than financially and no more than the basics. My children were 18, 16 and 5 at the time the divorce was filed for by my ex. He did not fight for any more time with the minor childern then every other weekend.

I had been working for a company for 8 years and the provider of insurance. The ex worked and still works for his family business. While married the small share he had in the company business was shown on all of our tax statements. This was given to each family member employed son and son-in-law to assure if something happened to the President(mother) that they could move into their positions with fewer problems for the company. During my divorce I was told by my lawyer I said this was a gift. I do not recall stating this. I do not really know how this was done but am aware my spouse and I filed togeather during our entire marriage.
I am also aware that he was at one time hourly with a lot of overtime and unable to take time off to assist with our children if ill and I had used all 5 my sick days on 3 children and myself. This reason he could not was told to me by the President of the company his mother that he was in management in a family business and could not loose time like this or he would not be paid for that day. He could however take a day without loosing pay for his own health reasons.