• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mediator versus Lawyers, opinions please

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MontanaBG

state? = Montana
Wife wants to use a mediator to avoid attorney costs. Just beginning divorce proceedings; not filed yet; and I'm just learning and trying to get help as divorce was unexpected: she wants it, saying we no longer match. No kids involved: settlement is just about assets division and possible alimony (from her to me).

I know mediation is a good thing but I'm worried that no matter how unbiased, mediator may be sweet-talked to side more in her interests? Because wife is way better at that than I. Wife comes off as VERY sweet and is also a trained talker - therapist - persuasive; whereas I'm quiet unassertive type. She went thru an ugly bitter divorce 10 years ago (against an Attorney) and now likely to be VERY assertive after the previous one.
I believe that I could simply not sign mediation agreement if I didn't agree with it?, but more likely just get railroaded or guilt tripped if I was to do that. Like, "you agreed to mediation".

I'm 53; together 9 years; wife earns 250k-gross per year while I took early retirement a year ago. So now she will continue her 250k job while I am unemployed/ no income and no (small) pension till age 60. I am wanting her to keep our couple nice properties plus her business property, worth vicinity of 1-million equity; and just want a fair financial division otherwise, such as at least 50-50 of marital assets.
She's already making jibes such as "I didn't think I needed a pre-nup", "just go out and get a job; why should I support you", etc.; and downsizing how much she should owe me.