• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mortgage Interest Entitlement

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ksstbx

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CALIF

My spouse moved out of the marital home (unannounced) on 1/3/2009. I had been making the mortgage payment all along. I have been paying temporary spousal support since January, 2009. I re-financed the home as of ~8/1/2009 to put it in my name only, effectively removing her from the title deed and the mortgage loan.

She is now claiming that she is entitled to one-half of the mortgage interest from 1/2009 through 7/2009. I have read IRS Publications 504 and 936 and I am still confused. I called the IRS help line, and they were not exactly sure, but said if this was not her permanent address and if she did not contribute to the loan, then she is not entitled to any of the interest for tax purposes.

Is this true?

As a side note, the current Dissomaster submitted by her attorney shows the mortgage interest category split 50-50 in the calculation (as if we were filing jointly). Is it possible that: (a) I will have to pay a retro-active adjustment showing the mortgage interest in "my column"? (if so, that would hardly seem fair that I would have to "pay" for his mistake for not keeping being attentive to the issues), or (b) that since the mortgage interest category was split 50-50, that this would legally give her what she is asking?

Thanks in advance. I hope I made sense.

~ksstbxWhat is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

mistoffolees